Bev receives another award, Congratulations Bev!


Bev is receiving another award! Bev is BC Divings technical directer and she is once again being recognized for her hard work and contribution to the sport of Diving.


 Press release below:

Daryl Thompson Award Recipient Announced

To be honoured at ceremony on March 5, 2014

Richmond, BC (February 4, 2014) – Sport BC, on behalf of the BC sport community, announced today that Beverly (Bev) Boys of Surrey, BC is the recipient of the Daryl Thompson Award.

The 48th annual Athlete of the Year Awards Ceremony and Gala dinner, set for March 5, 2014 at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, recognizes BC’s best amateur athletes, coaches, and officials for outstanding performances in their sport over the 2013 season. The Daryl Thompson award is presented to an individual who has either contributed in an extraordinary way to sport over a long period of time or has made a major contribution to amateur sport in British Columbia.

“Bev Boys started diving when she was 11 and represented Canada in national and international competition for 16 years,” said Sport BC’s President and CEO, Rob Newman. “When she retired in 1979, she began coaching and judging in competitions all over the world. Bev’s contribution to the development of the sport of diving throughout our province, over the past 34 years, has earned her this prestigious award.”

Bev has an impressive resume as a competitive athlete: she is a 34-time national champion; a three time Olympian (1968, 1972, 1976); she competed in four Commonwealth Games; was twice named Canada’s Athlete of the Year (1969, 1970); and has been inducted into the Aquatic, Ontario and Canadian Halls of Fame. In 2005 Bev was named BC’s Official of the Year and in 2013, she was recognized as the country’s top female official of the year by Sport Officials of Canada.

Bev led by example as a respected “A Level” International judge, coach and technical development coordinator. She notes that “her insight into the athletes’ and coaches’ worlds has enabled her to voice her opinion on sometimes challenging issues in officiating and to work collaboratively with colleagues towards outcomes that advance the sport”. Bev is a member of the Diving Canada Plongeon Officials Committee and was elevated to the Chair of the Officials committee spearheading the development and implementation of new judging rules, to improve the expertise and consistency of Canadian judges.

The year 2013 also marked Bev’s 30th year as a FINA “A Level” international judge. She has judged at the highest levels of the sport, including four Olympic Games, five World Championships and six Commonwealth Games. Bev is a club founder and manager and continues to develop the grass roots and future Olympians while at the same time contributing at the highest levels on the international scene.

About the Daryl Thompson Award:

This award honours the late Daryl Thompson, an athlete, coach and former Chair and Director of Sport BC. Selected by the Sport BC Board of Directors, past recipients include Ted Reynold (1974); Terry Fox (1980); Rick Hansen (1986); May Brown (1987); Irene MacDonald (1989); Doug Clement (1995); John Furlong (1998); Charmaine Crooks (2002); Laurel Crosby (2008); KC Emerson (2009); Ray Carter (2010); Kathy Newman (2011); and Larry Kilparchuk (2012).

The BC Games Society is this year’s presenting sponsor of the Daryl Thompson Award. The lead organization in guiding the BC Winter and BC Summer Games and preparing Team BC for national multi- sport Games, the BC Games Society ( builds on the expertise and support of partners to create development opportunities for athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers, and communities. More than half of all of the award recipients being recognized on March 5th have participated in the BC or Canada Games.

About the Athlete of the Year Awards

The Athlete of the Year Awards, founded by Sport BC, is the longest standing sport recognition event in Canada. Awards in 18 different categories are given each year to athletes, coaches, and officials for their performance and contribution to sport in our province. The awards play a valuable role in nurturing athletic success and recognizing some of BC’s growing talents. This year’s event, hosted by CBC’s Scott Russell, is expected to sell out so don’t be disappointed and order your tickets today at

Also included as part of the evening’s celebration of sport is the presentation of the Annual President’s Awards, sponsored by “Sports with Balls”, a group of nine member provincial organizations including Basketball BC, Football BC, BC Lacrosse Association, BC Rugby Union, BC Soccer, Softball BC, Tennis BC, Volleyball BC, and BC Water Polo Association.

Now in its 20th year, the President’s Awards are presented to volunteers from Sport BC member organizations who represent the spirit of volunteerism, and whose dedication, energy, and commitment contribute to development of their respective sport or organization.


Register and become a BC Diving Member!
An annual membership with BC Diving provides your family with a supportive environment for recreation and physical development. Register Now!
Thanks for visiting BC Diving!
Please send us an email for further information about our diving programs or if you would like to be on our mailing list: